Eng
Rus
3 reasons
to go to West Greenland
with RUSARC
EXPEDITIONS 2022
1
Gigantic Icebergs
If you ever consider going somewhere to see icebergs, choose Ilulissat. That is where you will find the fastest outlet glacier in the world, Jakobshavn Glacier; thousands of icebergs are calving off it constantly, filling the West coast of Greenland. Icebergs are one of nature's wonders that make Greenland so special and attract so many travellers from around the world.
2
Inuit Culture and Traditions
The way people live in such harsh climate conditions makes you curious. They have to adapt to winter when the water freezes and the polar night begins; they have to adapt to summer, when the ice melts and the polar day settles in. There are no industries, farms, wheat fields, fruit gardens, as it's hard to grow anything in the Arctic climate. How do they travel having no roads? What do they eat without growing anything? How do they live with the Sun not going down in the summer and not rising in the winter? These are the questions you are going to get answers to during our expedition to the Disko Bay.
3
Sailing Under Red Sails
The story behind red sails on our yachts is touching and romantic; it resembles a fairy-tale, and in the long run its characters (like the characters of the fairy-tale) lived happily ever after. As for the sails, they remained with us, and first reached the Antarctic, then Greenland and now they bring joy to our guests every season.
The yachts used
in the expedition:
PETER I
Due to season shift dates of upcoming expeditions will be announced later
RUSARC AURORA
Due to season shift dates of upcoming expeditions will be announced later
Program of the expedition
to the Disko Bay (West Greenland)
Dates:
Due to season shift dates of upcoming expeditions will be announced later
Day 1
Day 1
Ilulissat
The boat that is going to be your home for the nearest future will be waiting for you in ten-minutes drive from the Ilulissat airport.

Just recall the feeling you had while looking at dozens of icebergs scattered around from an airplane window — very soon you'll get it back, when after accommodating yourself aboard you will take the Blue Trail trek along the fjord. That is where you will find the largest collection of icebergs in Greenland, thousands of which are calving off the Jakobshavn Glacier. Whichever route you choose — a long one of 7 km or a short one of 3 km — you will get loads of impressions from this trek!

Don't forget to take a thermos and some cookies — you will need them if you decide to take a break. Pick a beautiful little hill and listen to the ice move while sipping some warm drink. You will definitely remember this moment! We'll be there during a polar day in Greenland, so the icebergs lit up by the golden rays of the midnight Sun will look especially amazing.
Day 2
Day 2
Aasiaat
We have bought the food, have replenished the water and fuel supplies and are ready to set sail. Our first stop will be the town of Aasiaat. To get there we'll have to pass the Icefjord, the very fjord that you walked by while taking the Blue Trail and that you might have seen from the airplane.

It's time to check out what icebergs look like from the sea and, maybe, even to meet your first whale. You might have noticed that it is a whale that's imprinted on our Greenland expedition emblem, because these noble giants are present in abundance here. When we were on our first expedition to Greenland, groups of whales were fishing close to Aasiaat, and 4 to 7 whales were jumping out of the water right next to our boat at once.

Apart from taking pictures, you might try fishing. Our chef will easily fry a fresh cod or, in case we are lucky, a catfish. Halibut, sea bass or wild trout are not that easy to catch, but you may buy some at a market here in the port. Sometimes you'll find whale meat being sold too. Like centuries ago, nowadays Inuits fish whales since their meat as well as that of seals is the basics of their diet.

When walking around the town, pay attention to an arch next to the church: it is made of bones from a whale's jaws; and next to the hotel where you are likely to look for some wi-fi, you will see the full whale skeleton.
Day 3
Day 3
Kekertarsuak
If you look at the map of Greenland, you will see that 80% of its surface is covered with an ice sheet. Then why do they call it Greenland? There are several explanations as to why viking Erik the Red, the first European to step on this land, called it a green land. One version goes that it was a PR-trick to attract more settlers to this severe region. We personally think that such a name might have crossed his mind after Erik the Red visited Disko Island, the greenest corner of Greenland.

You will see it for yourself when going on a trek along a picturesque route to the waterfalls of the Wind Valley, basalt cliffs, and black beach. The trek continues along the gulf and you will get a good view of gigantic icebergs from there. Do not forget to grab a big bag with you, cause there are a lot of mushrooms growing along the way, in fact there are so many of them that you don't even need to look for them in the bushes.

When all the guests come back, we'll move to a secret spot with two waterfalls, have a barbecue on a beach with volcanic sand and might also wakeboard among the icebergs. After that we'll spend a night in port. Godhavn is definitely one of our favourite spots in the Disko Bay expedition.
Day 4
Day 4
Sarkak
Sarkak is a small, nice town fifty miles away from Kekertarsuak. We'll stop here for a night before starting our passage to Uummanaq, the longest passage of this expedition. In Sarkak we recommend you visit the local church, it is always open here.

Greenland churches, as well as sculptures, paintings and simple drawings that Inuits use to decorate the walls of their buildings represent their unique national culture and traditions. Nowadays, the same as five thousand years ago, dog sledding is an essential part of Greenland tradition. They use dogs not only for moving around in winter, but also for hunting.

Those who live in such small towns like Sarkak are usually involved in breeding or learning to sled the dogs. That is why you will always come across a kennel with a horde of fluffy puppies that you can't but squeeze for a while.
Day 5
Day 5
Uummannaq
The second place in our top-three. The town is located at the foot of a mountain that resembles a heart by its shape. We will spend almost a whole day on the way to Uummannaq, but it is so much worth it; in addition we'll see so many wonderful places on our way there. While in the town, you'd better leave the boat and have a walk around, especially if it's foggy or at sunset.

The panoramic view of the fjord from the shore is stunning in its colour, light and texture.
Day 6
Day 6
Qullissat
This is an abandoned village where they used to mine coal until 1972. Due to labour intensity and costly processes the mining ceased and the workers had to leave their homes and move.

Although there is no communications and electricity, and the place resembles Silent Hill, old residents and miners' grandchildren take care of their households and come here like to their country houses.
Day 7
Day 7
Oqaatsut, getting back to Ilulissat
Oqaatsut, or, formerly, Rodebay, received its first name from the Dutch whale hunters, who settled here in the 18th century; the name means ''the bloody bay''. If you go along the Oqaatsut coasts on a motorboat you'll get the idea: one could easily distinguish remnants of whales at the bottom that are God only knows how many years old.

Tourists are attracted to the oldest whale-catcher tavern H8, where you can try local cuisine: smoked whale set; a cocktail of shrimps, dry cod; and smoked halibut, and sea soup. Ilulissat is two hours away from here, and the whole route will be studded with icebergs.
Note:
Please, take into account that the start date, the described route and the duration of stops during the expedition to the West Greenland might vary upon the captain's understanding depending on weather conditions and other circumstances.
Price
€2,550
Expedition Dates:

Due to season shift dates of upcoming
expeditions will be announced later

Price includes:
- accommodation in cabins;
- bed linen and towel;
- berthing expenses (water/electricity);
- fuel duty;
- three meals per day on board;
- professional sailing team service;
- cook's service.

Please pay attention to the fact that the captain has the right to alter the route and its sequence depending on the weather and ice conditions.
Take your first step
to an expedition with RUSARC
Expedition
By submitting this form you agree to the processing of your personal data.

3 повода
отправиться в
Западную Гренландию
с RUSARC
ЭКСПЕДИЦИИ 2020
1
Гигантские айсберги
Если и ехать куда-то за айсбергами, то в Илюлиссат. Именно здесь находится самый быстрый в мире выводной ледник Jakobshavn Glacier, от которого непрерывно откалываются тысячи айсбергов, заполняя собой западное побережье Гренландии. Айсберги – это настоящее чудо природы, которое делает Гренландию такой особенной и притягивает сюда путешественников со всего мира.
2
Культура и обычаи инуитов
Образ жизни людей, живущих в таких суровых климатических условиях, не может не
заинтересовать. Им приходится приспосабливаться зимой, когда вода замерзает и
наступает полярная ночь, и летом, когда лед тает и начинается полярный день. Здесь нет промышленных предприятий, фермерских хозяйств, пшеничных полей, фруктовых садов - в арктическом климате сложно что-то вырастить. Как передвигаться, если нет дорог? Что есть там, где ничего не растет? Как жить там, где солнце почти не заходит летом и не встает зимой? Все это и многое другое вы узнаете в нашей экспедиции по заливу Диско.
3
Плавание под алыми парусами
История появления алых парусов на наших яхтах трогательная, романтичная, похожая на сказку и для ее героев, как в сказке, все закончилось «жили долго и счастливо». А паруса остались у нас, и дошли сначала до Антарктиды, а потом и до Гренландии и теперь радуют и восхищают наших гостей каждый сезон.
Экспедиция
проходит на яхтах:
Петр 1
Даты:
03.07.2020 - 10.07.2020
Aurora
Даты:
15.06.2020 - 21.06.2020
Программа экспедиции
по заливу Диско
(Западная Гренландия)
Даты:
15.06.2020 - 21.06.2020
03.07.2020 - 10.07.2020
1 день
1 день
Илюлиссат
Лодка, которая станет вашим домом на ближайшее время, будет ждать вас в
десяти минутах езды от аэропорта Илюлиссата.

Вспомните ощущение, которое испытывали, глядя из иллюминатора на россыпи айсбергов – очень скоро оно вернется, когда вы, заселившись на лодку, отправитесь в трек Blue Trail вдоль фьорда. Именно здесь находится самая большая коллекция айсбергов в Гренландии, которые тысячами откалывается от ледника Jakobshavn Glacier. И какой бы вы ни выбрали для себя маршрут, длинный на 7 км или короткий на 3 км, вы все равно получите массу впечатлений от прогулки.

Возьмите с собой термос и печеньице, они вам пригодятся, когда вы захотите остановиться перевести дух. Выберите холмик поживописней и послушайте движение льда, наслаждаясь чем-нибудь согревающим. Поверьте, этот момент вы запомните. В Гренландии в это время года полярный день и айсберги в свете полуночного солнца, подсвеченные его золотистыми лучами, особенно прекрасны.
2 день
2 день
Аасиаат
Продукты закуплены, лодка забункерована водой, топливом и готова отправляться. Наша первая остановка будет в городе Аасиаат. Путь к нему лежит через Айсфьорд, тот самый, вдоль которого проходит тропа Blue Trail и который вы могли видеть из окна самолета.

Настало время посмотреть, как выглядят айсберги с воды и возможно, встретить вашего первого кита. Если вы заметили, именно кит изображен на эмблеме наших гренландских экспедиций, потому что именно здесь живет множество этих благородных гигантов. В нашу первую экспедицию мы как раз подходили к Аасиаату, когда группы китов кормились, выныривая иногда прямо возле яхты по 4 – 7 особей за раз.

Помимо фотоохоты можно покидать и удочку. Шеф отлично поджарит к ужину свежую треску, а если повезет, то и зубатку. За палтусом, морским окунем или дикой форелью, которых так просто не поймаешь, лучше сходить на рыночек тут же в порту. Иногда на прилавке лежит и мясо кита. Сегодня инуиты, как и сотни лет назад, охотятся на этих млекопитающих, мясо которых, как и тюлени, составляет основу их рациона.

Когда пойдете на прогулку по городу, обратите внимание на арку у церкви – она сделана из костей, составляющих челюсти кита, а возле гостиницы, куда вы наверняка захотите пойти за интернетом, лежит и скелет целиком.
3 день
3 день
Кекертарсуак
Если смотреть на карту Гренландии, видно, что почти 80% ее поверхности покрыто ледовым щитом. Тогда почему Гренландия? Существует несколько мнений, почему викинг Эрик Рыжий, первый европеец, ступивший на эту землю, назвал ее «зеленой Землей». По одной из версий, это был такой пиар-ход, чтобы привлечь в этот суровый край побольше поселенцев. Нам лично кажется, что такое название могло вполне себе появиться после того, как Эрик Рыжий побывал на острове Диско – самом зеленом уголке Гренландии.

Вы сами в этом убедитесь, отправившись в трек по живописнейшему
маршруту к водопадам Долины ветров, базальтовым скалам, черному пляжу. Тропа идет вдоль залива и с берега хорошо видны гигантские айсберги. Не забудьте захватить с собой большой пакет, потому что вдоль тропинки растет множество грибов и за ними не нужно шарить по кустам.

Когда все гости вернутся, мы выйдем в секретное место с двойным водопадом, устроим барбекю на пляже с вулканическим песком и может погоняем на вейке среди айсбергов, после чего вернемся ночевать в порт. Несомненно, Godhavn одно из наших излюбленных мест в экспедиции по заливу Диско.
4 день
4 день
Саркак
Небольшой, симпатичный городок милях в пятидесяти от Кекертарсуака. Здесь мы сделаем ночную остановку перед переходом в Уумманак, который в экспедиции будет самым долгим. В Саркаке загляните в местную церковь – она здесь всегда открыта.

Гренландские церкви, как и скульптуры, картины и просто рисунки, которыми инуиты украшают стены домов, отражают уникальную национальную культуру и традиции. Езда на собачьих упряжках, как и пять тысяч лет назад, также является неотъемлемой частью традиций гренландцев. Собаки нужны не только для передвижения зимой, но и для охоты.

Разведение ездовых собак и умение управлять ими имеет особое значение для
жителей маленьких населенных пунктов, таких как Саркак. Поэтому здесь всегда найдется будка с оравой пушистых щеночков, мимо которых невозможно пройти, не потискав их.
5 день
5 день
Ууманак
Второе место в тройке наших любимых. Город расположен у подножия горы, по форме напоминающей сердце. До Уумманнака добираться около суток, но оно того стоит, кроме того, сколько красоты можно встретить по пути. В самом городе не стоит отсиживаться на лодке, а лучше отправиться на прогулку, особенно если туманно или время заката.

Панорама на фьорд с берега потрясающая: цвет, свет, фактура.
6 день
6 день
Куллиссат
Заброшенный поселок, в котором до 1972 года добывали уголь. Из-за трудоемкости и дороговизны процесса добычу прекратили и рабочие были вынуждены покинуть свои дома и переехать.

Несмотря на то, что здесь нет коммуникаций, электричества, да и выглядит это место почти как Сайлент Хилл, старожилы и внуки шахтеров ухаживают за
своими домами и приезжают сюда, как на дачу.
7 день
7 день
Окаатсут, возвращение в Илюлиссат.
Или Rodebay – поселение, название, которому название дали голландские китобои, обосновавшиеся здесь в XVIII веке и переводится оно как «кровавая бухта». Если проехаться вдоль берегов Окаатсута на «тузике», нетрудно догадаться, откуда такое название: со дна хорошо видны останки китов, которым кто знает уже сколько лет.

Туристов сюда привлекает старейший китобойный кабак H8, в котором можно
попробовать местную кухню: сет из вяленого кита, коктейля из креветок, сушеной трески и копченого палтуса, морской супчик. Отсюда до Илюлиссата остается около двух часов пути и путь этот будет усеян айсбергами.
Примечание:
Пожалуйста, учитывайте, что дата выхода, приведенный маршрут и продолжительность стоянок в экспедиции на Антарктический полуостров могут меняться по усмотрению капитана в зависимости от погодных условий и внешних обстоятельств.
Даты экспедиций:

15.06.2020 - 21.06.2020
03.07.2020 - 10.07.2020

В стоимость входит:

- размещение в каютах;
- постельное белье и полотенце;
- стоянки (вода/электричество);
- топливный сбор;
- трехразовое питание на борту;
- услуги профессиональной
команды;
- услуги кока.

Обращаем ваше внимание на то, что капитан яхты оставляет за собой право менять маршрут и его последовательность в зависимости от погоды и ледовой обстановки.


Первый шаг к экспедиции
с RUSARC
Нажимая «Отправить», вы соглашаетесь с Условиями и Правилами компании.
Следите за экспедициями и мероприятиями
RUSARC
в социальных сетях:
Made on
Tilda