Eng
Rus
Sea Expedition
to the Kuril Islands
Duration: 17 days
Group: 8 people
An enormous route along all the Kuril Islands
A thousand miles by sea
Orca whales and dolphins by the board, seals and sea lions on shore — that's what awaits you in this unbelievable journey with RUSARC in a nutshell!


Overnight stays in amazing locations
The Kurils are stunning islands that were formed at the junction of two tectonic plates; they separate the sea of Okhotsk from the Pacific Ocean. There are active or extinct volcanoes on almost every island here. Moreover, there are two-tiered volcanoes with a ring-shaped lake in caldera! We could talk about that for hours, but instead suggest you see everything with your own eyes.

Join us!
PROGRAM OF THE SEA EXPEDITION
TO THE KURIL ISLANDS
Day 1
Day 1
Meeting in Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk
We'll meet in the city and head for the port. After getting accommodated on board we'll go to the Aniva lighthouse. This lighthouse was built by the Japanese more than 80 years ago. Unfortunately, it is abandoned and its condition leaves much to be desired, but people do hope that in the coming years the authorities will start the renovation project.

If you like, you'll be able to climb the lighthouse; anyway the best pics will be the ones taken from the water — those of the lighthouse against the backdrop of the sunset rays.
Day 2-3
Day 2-3
Moving from the Continent to the First Kuril Island, Kunashir
This will be the longest transfer in our journey: the distance to Kunashir is 230 miles. However, we will use this time wisely — to get to know each other and the sails.
Day 4
Day 4
Кунашир
After landing on the island we will have a walk along the ecotrail. It is only a bit more than 3 kilometres long, so that will not be very tiring.

Halfway through the ecotrail we'll have a bath in hot springs, and then we'll have a walk along the ocean shore to finally reach Cape Stolbchaty. Here lava flows from Mendeleev volcano have frozen in columnar jointing under winds and water — a true natural wonder.
Day 5
Day 5
Kunashir Island, Day 2
On our second day here we will go to Golovnin volcano. On our way you will see the so-called fumarole fields. Fumaroles are openings on volcano slopes that emit volcanic gases from lava flowing underneath the surface.
Inside the caldera we will see lakes called Hot Lake and Boiling Lake. Actually, we will not only see them, but will have a chance to have a bath there!
Day 6
Day 6
Shikotan Island
This island is not like the previous one at all and will remind you more of the green slopes of New Zealand. Here we will have a walk along this stunning natural beauty up till the very End of the World, that is how the name of Kray Sveta Cape, located in the North-East of the island, is translated from Russian.
Day 7
Day 7
Iturup Island
If you like, you will be able to climb Baransky volcano. In case you don't feel like climbing, you may swim in the hot waters of the river flowing along the volcano slope. We will have both touristic hot tubs and just waterfalls or natural lagoons with hot springs — you are welcome to choose a spa-treat to your liking.
Day 8
Day 8
Urup Island
We'll finally land on an uninhabited island! Perhaps, apart from red and Arctic foxes there will be no one to greet us there. If you like, you can fish in a local river, where fish swim to spawn. Another option is to walk along the shore, enjoying the landscape and picking astonishing artefacts: quite often tourists find Japanese buoys in the shape of glass bubbles here.
Day 9
Day 9
Simushir Island
On the first day we are going to climb Zavaritsky volcano; that will be easy as the slope is really smooth, and rewarding as the beauty on top is going to take your breath away!
Day 10
Day 10
Simushir Island, Day 2
We are going to the Northern part of the island — Broughton Bay. This bay, in fact, is also a caldera of an ancient volcano.

Here on Simushir Island on the one hand you will have a chance to enjoy nature: to see Arctic foxes, try sea urchins, gather wild strawberries; while on the other — to wander around a deserted military settlement. It has been abandoned since 1994, and now all these buildings resemble decorations for some movie: a sad and mesmerising sight at the same time.
Day 11
Day 11
Yankich Island
Yankich Island is one of two tiny islands in the Ushishir archipelago. Their total area is just above five square metres, but the concentration of beautiful nature on this piece of land in the middle of the ocean is just beyond what you can imagine.
Day 12
Day 12
Raikoke Island
The whole Raikoke Island is the top of an active volcano. We are not going to land there, we'll just look from the boat. In 2019, after a massive volcano eruption, all the wildlife left Raikoke. Fortunately, after some time they came back, and if we are lucky enough, we'll see sea lions, seals and maybe even dolphins, as well as gulls and blue-eyed shags for sure :)
Day 13
Day 13
Onekotan Island
Krenitsyn volcano is the main sight of Onekotan, if not of all the Kuril Islands. This is one of the largest two-tiered volcanoes in the world. Two-tiered volcanoes are such volcanoes that have a yough, new volcano inside the caldera of an old one. Around the younger volcano a lake is formed. This one is called Koltsevoye Lake — meaning Ring Lake.
Day 14
Day 14
Atlasov Island
This is the northernmost and the tallest volcano in the Kuril Islands. Actually, the whole island is just the top of an active volcano, Alaid. It is famous for its almost ideal cone shape. Apart from that, Alaid has two side craters. Such craters emerge when lava turns away from the main channel and erupts to the side from the main caldera. One of them is called the Olympic eruption as it was formed during the Olympic Games 1972. Its marcian landscapes are what we are going to gape at.
Day 15
Day 15
Paramushir Island
After a week without civilization we are going to step onto an inhabited island. The programme here might differ, depending on what you prefer and on what the weather is going to be like. If someone is ready for climbing new peaks — welcome to Ebeko volcano. If it is sunny, the landscapes will impress you; more than that, you will have a chance to see the volcano erupt with your own eyes. All the others might visit the local museum of regional history or just have a walk around the island.


Day 16
Day 16
Shumshu Island
This island is known as the place where the last fight of the Kuril amphibious operation took place at the end of the second World War. It is more of an open-air museum now: here you can see fortified structures and remnants of Japanese tanks. Ruins of Zionist Cathedrals serve as witness to the Japanese period of the island, while abandoned buildings remind of Soviet times.

Maybe the group will not be interested in visiting this island — then we will head for Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky earlier; in case you decide to make a stop here, we will set sail later, after lunch.
Day 17
Day 17
Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky
That will be a long transfer, but by the end of the day we should reach the port.
Note:
Please, take into account that the start date, the described route and the duration of stops during the expedition to the Kuril Islands might vary upon the captain's understanding depending on weather conditions and other circumstances.
This expedition
is organized
on BAZILEUS Yacht
1 - Double master cabin
2,3,4 - Double cabin with a bunk bed
5 - Single crew cabin
6 - Double crew cabin
7, 8 - Head

9 - Galley
10 - Saloon
11 - Laundry room
12, 13 - Walk-in fridge
1 - Double master cabin
2,3,4 - Double cabin with a bunk bed
5 - Single crew cabin
6 - Double crew cabin
7, 8 - Head
9 - Galley
10 - Saloon
11 - Laundry room
12, 13 - Walk-in fridge
Getting Ready

Low difficulty level
No age restrictions
Minors must be accompanied by adults

What you need to take:
- Warm fleece clothes and thermal underwear
- Several pairs of cotton and thermal socks
- Rubber boots with a warm insert for walking on shore
- Footwear to use on board (crocs)
- Windbreaker jacket, waterproof pants and clothing
- Gloves (better 2 pairs)
- Hat (better 2 hats)
- Sunglasses (with cord — not to let them get flown away by the wind)
- Personal hygiene products, a towel
- Face cream, hand cream, sun protection
- Waterproof cases for photo cameras and other equipment
- Personal medical kit with individual medicine
- Thermos for hot tea

(!) Everything should be packed in soft bags and backpacks
Low difficulty level
No age restrictions
Minors must be accompanied by adults

What you need to take:
- Warm fleece clothes and thermal underwear
- Several pairs of cotton and thermal socks
- Rubber boots with a warm insert for walking on shore
- Footwear to use on board (crocs)
- Windbreaker jacket, waterproof pants and clothing
- Gloves (better 2 pairs)
- Hat (better 2 hats)
- Sunglasses (with cord — not to let them get flown away by the wind)
- Personal hygiene products, a towel
- Face cream, hand cream, sun protection
- Waterproof cases for photo cameras and other equipment
- Personal medical kit with individual medicine
- Thermos for hot tea

(!) Everything should be packed in soft bags and backpacks

Price
€5,000
That includes:
· Accommodation
· Three meals per day
· Excursions
· Fuel duty

That DOES NOT include:
· Tickets to Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk from your location and back
· Personal medical insurance
· Souvenirs, other pocket expenses
· Satellite connection


BOOK YOUR PLACE:
28.05.23 — 13.06.23 (Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk — Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky)
17.06.23 — 03.07.23 (Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky — Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk)
06.07.23 — 22.07.23 (Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk — Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky)

Take your first step
to an expedition with RUSARC
Expedition
By submitting this form you agree to the processing of your personal data.
Photo by Olga Rumyantseva

Eng
Rus
Морская экспедиция
по Курильским островам
ЭКСПЕДИЦИИ 2023/2024
Длительность: 17 дней
Группа: 8 человек
Протяженный маршрут по всем Курилам
Тысяча миль под парусом
Косатки и дельфины за бортом, морские котики и сивучи на берегу — и это только в паре слов о том, что вас ждет в этом невероятном приключении с RUSARC!



Ночевки в удивительных местах
Курилы — удивительные острова, которые образовались на стыке двух тектонических плит; они отделяют Охотское море от Тихого океана. Почти на каждом из них есть потухшие или активные вулканы. А еще встречаются двухъярусные вулканы с кольцевыми озерами в кальдере! Говорить об этом можно долго, но лучше, конечно, увидеть все своими глазами.


Присоединяйтесь!


Программа экспедиции
на Курильские острова с RUSARC
День 1
День 1
Встреча в Южно-Сахалинске
Встречаемся в городе и сразу отправляемся в порт. После заселения — небольшой переход до маяка Анива. Этому маяку, который построили еще японцы, уже больше 80 лет. К сожалению, сейчас он заброшен и находится в удручающем состоянии, но есть надежда, что в ближайшие пару лет местные власти начнут его реконструкцию.

Желающие смогут забраться и на сам маяк, но лучшие фотографии все равно получатся с воды — особенно в лучах закатного солнца.
День 2-3
День 2-3
Уходим от континента в сторону первого острова Курильской гряды — Кунашира
Это будет самый длинный переход в нашем путешествии: расстояние до Кунашира целых 230 миль. Зато у нас будет время поближе познакомиться и друг с другом, и с парусами.
День 4
День 4
Кунашир
После высадки на остров мы отправимся на прогулку по экотропе. Ее протяженность — всего 3 с небольшим километра, так что устать вы не успеете.

На полпути мы искупаемся в горячих источниках, а потом выйдем на берег океана. Прогулка по побережью закончится у мыса Столбчатый. Здесь потоки лавы от извержения вулкана Менделеева застыли в форме столбчатых наслоений под воздействием ветра и воды — одним словом, чудо природы.
День 5
День 5
Кунашир. Продолжение
На второй день отправляемся к вулкану Головнина. По дороге знакомимся с так называемыми «фумарольными полями». Фумаролы — это отверстия на склонах вулканов, через которые на поверхность выходят газы от лавовых потоков.

А вот в кальдере вулкана мы увидим целые озера, да еще какие: озеро Горячее и озеро Кипящее. И не только увидим, но и сможем в них искупаться!
День 6
День 6
Шикотан
Этот остров совсем не похож на предыдущий и скорее напомнит вам о зеленых холмах Новой Зеландии. Здесь нас ждет прогулка по невероятной красоте до самого Края Света — так называется мыс на северо-востоке острова.
День 7
День 7
Итуруп
Желающие смогут подняться на вулкан Баранского. Если же на подъем не будет сил, то ограничимся купанием в горячей воде реки, стекающей по склону вулкана. У нас на пути будут и облагороженные «горячие ванны», и просто водопады или естественные заводи горячих источников — выбирайте природные спа-процедуры на свой вкус.
День 8
День 8
Уруп
Наконец-то мы высадимся на необитаемом острове! Приветствовать на Урупе нас будут разве что лисы и песцы. Желающие смогут порыбачить в местной речке, куда рыба идет на нерест. Остальные просто погуляют по берегу, наслаждаясь местными красотами и собирая удивительные артефакты: частенько можно обнаружить японские поплавки для сетей в виде стеклянных шариков.
День 9
День 9
Симушир
В первый день здесь нас ждет восхождение на вулкан Заварицкого, несложное, по пологому склону, на вершине которого — красота!
День 10
День 10
Симушир. Продолжение
Мы перейдем в северную часть острова — в бухту Броутона. Эта бухта на самом деле тоже кальдера древнего вулкана.

Здесь на Симушире у вас будет возможность, с одной стороны, насладиться природой: увидеть песцов, морских ежей, насобирать дикой земляники; а с другой — сходить на прогулку в заброшенный военный поселок. В нем никто не живет с 1994 года, и сейчас все эти здания и сооружения похожи, скорее, на декорации к какому-нибудь фильму: печальное и завораживающее зрелище одновременно.
День 11
День 11
Остров Янкича
Остров Янкича — один из двух малюсеньких островов в составе архипелага Ушишир. Их общая площадь чуть более пяти квадратных метров. А красоты на этом кусочке земли посреди океана — видимо-невидимо.
День 12
День 12
Райкоке
Весь остров Райкоке — это вершина активного вулкана. Высаживаться на нем мы не будем, посмотрим с яхты. В 2019 году здесь произошло крупное извержение, и Райкоке покинули все животные и птицы. К счастью, они вернулись, и, если нам повезет, то мы увидим и сивучей — морских львов, и тюленей, а может, и дельфинов. И чаек с бакланами, конечно :)
День 13
День 13
Онекотан
Главная достопримечательность Онекотана, если не сказать всех Курил, — вулкан Креницина. Это один из самых больших в мире двухъярусных вулканов. Двухъярусными называют такие вулканы, у которых в кальдере одного, более старшего вулкана, образуется новый, молодой. А вокруг его вершины, конечно же, поразительной красоты озеро. Оно так и называется — Кольцевое.
День 14
День 14
Остров Атласова
Это одновременно самый северный и самый высокий из всех Курильских островов. На самом деле весь остров — это вершина действующего вулкана Алаид. И красота его в том, что по форме это почти идеальный конус. А еще у Алаида есть два боковых кратера. Такие кратеры появляются когда лава отходит в сторону от основного вертикального канала и прорывается сбоку от главного кратера. Один из них называется Олимпийский прорыв, поскольку образовался во время Олимпийских игр 1972 года. Его марсианские пейзажи нам с вами и предстоит оценить.
День 15
День 15
Парамушир
После недели без связи с цивилизацией мы ступим на обитаемый остров. Здесь программа может быть разной, в зависимости от ваших пожеланий и от погодных условий. Кто готов покорять новые вершины — добро пожаловать на вулкан Эбеко. Если день будет солнечный, то эти пейзажи вас точно поразят, а еще у вас будет шанс увидеть своими глазами процесс извержения вулкана. Остальные могут посетить местный краеведческий музей или просто прогуляться по острову.


День 16
День 16
Шумшу
Этот остров известен как последнее место боя Курильской десантной операции, который проходила в последние дни Второй мировой войны. Он скорее напоминает музей под открытым небом: здесь можно увидеть и фортификационные сооружения, и останки японских танков. Есть и руины синтоистских храмов — свидетельство еще японского периода, и следы послевоенного, уже советского, времени.

Возможно, этот остров будет интересен не всем — тогда мы просто пораньше выйдем в Петропавловск-Камчатский, а если группа все же решит сделать здесь остановку, то отправимся в сторону финальной точки нашего путешествия после обеда.
День 17
День 17
Петропавловск-Камчатский
Это будет долгий переход, но к концу дня мы уже скорее всего будем в порту.
Примечание:
Пожалуйста, учитывайте, что дата выхода, приведенный маршрут и продолжительность стоянок в экспедиции на Курильские острова могут меняться по усмотрению капитана в зависимости от погодных условий и внешних обстоятельств.
Экспедиция проходит
на яхте BAZILEUS
1 — каюта люкс с двуспальной кроватью
2,3,4 — двухместная каюта с двухъярусной кроватью
5 — одноместная каюта (для экипажа)
6 — двухместная каюта с двухъярусной кроватью (для экипажа)
7, 8 — гальюн
9 — камбуз
10 — салон
11 — прачечная
12, 13 — холодильная камера
1 — каюта люкс с двуспальной кроватью
2,3,4 — двухместная каюта с двухъярусной кроватью
5 — одноместная каюта (для экипажа)
6 — двухместная каюта с двухъярусной кроватью (для экипажа)
7, 8 — гальюн
9 — камбуз
10 — салон
11 — прачечная
12, 13 — холодильная камера
Подготовка
Уровень сложности — низкий
Возрастных ограничений — нет
Несовершеннолетние дети — в сопровождении взрослых

Что взять с собой:
- Теплые флисовые вещи и термобелье
- Хлопковые и термо-носки (несколько пар)
- Резиновые сапоги с теплой внутренней вставкой для хождения по берегу
- Обувь для хождения внутри яхты (кроксы)
- Куртка-штормовка, штаны и вещи из водоотталкивающих материалов (waterproof)
- Перчатки (лучше 2 пары)
- Шапку (лучше 2)
- Солнечные очки (с веревкой, чтобы не унесло в море)
- Предметы личной гигиены, полотенце
- Крем для рук, лица, солнцезащитный крем
- Водонепроницаемые чехлы для фототехники
- Личную аптечку с индивидуальными лекарствами
- Термос для горячего чая

(!) Вещи необходимо упаковать в мягкие сумки и рюкзаки
Уровень сложности — низкий
Возрастных ограничений — нет
Несовершеннолетние дети — в сопровождении взрослых

Что взять с собой:
- Теплые флисовые вещи и термобелье
- Хлопковые и термо-носки (несколько пар)
- Резиновые сапоги с теплой внутренней вставкой для хождения по берегу
- Обувь для хождения внутри яхты (кроксы)
- Куртка-штормовка, штаны и вещи из водоотталкивающих материалов (waterproof)
- Перчатки (лучше 2 пары)
- Шапку (лучше 2)
- Солнечные очки (с веревкой, чтобы не унесло в море)
- Предметы личной гигиены, полотенце
- Крем для рук, лица, солнцезащитный крем
- Водонепроницаемые чехлы для фототехники
- Личную аптечку с индивидуальными лекарствами
- Термос для горячего чая

(!) Вещи необходимо упаковать в мягкие сумки и рюкзаки
Стоимость
500 000 рублей

Даты экспедиций (БРОНЬ):


28.05.23 — 13.06.23 (Южно-Сахалинск — Петропавловск-Камчатский)
17.06.23 — 03.07.23 (Петропавловск-Камчатский — Южно-Сахалинск)
06.07.23 — 22.07.23 (Южно-Сахалинск — Петропавловск-Камчатский)

В стоимость входит:
- размещение в каютах;
- постельное белье и полотенце;
- стоянки (вода/электричество);
- топливный сбор;
- трехразовое питание на борту;
- услуги профессиональной
команды;
- услуги кока.

Количество человек
На странице использованы фотографии Ольги Румянцевой